From trash to treasure

I am not ashamed to admit…I will stop the car on a dime, make my husband go back, come to a screeching halt…for a good trash find.  Is there a better way to furnish than reclaimed trash finds?  I think not!

Over the summer, I got SUPER lucky in that a friend was moving and her trash – MY TREASURE!

Here’s a lovely little chair I got that day.  Trash?  Look at those beautiful bones?  I couldn’t wait to work on it…but a few other things were going on at the time and it has been sitting in my garage until last week.

I pulled her out.  Sanded her down.  Ripped that nasty seat down to the bare wood.  Then down in our basement, after the kids were gone and after I dropped Sprout at a sitters for the afternoon, I painted this little beauty.  I had been dreaming of a pretty little turquoise color or an apple green.  But with the seat fabric I chose, had to go with the apple green.  And I LOVE IT!

 

Used an old bed pillow I had (cuz I keep our old pillows…and make cute covers for them for our outdoor furniture).  I cut the bed pillow in half to get it to fit the seat (do you know how expensive foam is?  Yikes!  I say reuse – repurpose!!)  I used a gorgeous LOVE fabric from the Amy Butler collection to cover the seat.

Add to it a folding table from a discount store for $10, an old bed sheet I cut up and added ruffles to cover the table and viola!  A new little office desk space for me in my sewing room!

Are you a trash to treasure hunter too?

xoxo,

Trish

19 Responses

  1. I realized you are probably thinking… make some what?? I refinished a chair… haha I have pilows to go on my chairs that I need to “make” covers for. Hence the make some comment 🙂

  2. That is gorgeous! I’m totally inspired to make some now!

  3. This absolutely rocks! I would never hasve thought of that colour for the paint but I will now when I go to redo an old chair. I adore this kind of find – just call me a “dumpster diver”! lol
    Hugs,
    Kerry

  4. Well, i used to be, but never as successful as you! I do have an awesome $5 garage sale chair that I’ve recovered twice already and have some Joel Dewberry homedec on deck to recover it yet again!

  5. That looks great! I have been known to pick from people’s trash, but not often enough. On my first attempt to take a sleigh from a trash pile, I was almost caught by it’s owner. I was too embarressed, I just kept going.

    My other trash picking was a kids plastic patio table that I have plans to spray paint. I’m glad I did it because it will come in handy (not this summer) but next summer!

    Well done!

  6. The chair turned out super fabulous!!! I love it! I’m a trash to treasure girl too, but my “treasures” always end up piling up in the garage. I need more hours in the day to do all that I want with it!

  7. totally! i was getting a chair at the curb one day and my daughter (who was 4 at the time) said, umm, mom? are you stealing?

    love the chair and the ruffled cover!

  8. Oh how I love the chair and yes I have to admit I love curbside shopping! However we don’t seem to have many treasures in our area. In fact I have only seen something on the curb twice since we moved here a year ago. Maybe I’m just not looking in the right neighborhood since we live out in the country… LOL

  9. LOVE LOVE LOVE the chair! Go you!

Leave a Reply

