Sew It Up Sunday – Storage Box

{Do you know of another method for making these boxes?  Please share in the comments section.  When I was making these originally for Valentines day card boxes – I had a hard time finding a quick and easy method that worked for me.  I came up with a method that is just like the tote bags I make.  Hope it works for you.  I make no promises.  :>)  Sew at your own risk.

Check back SEW soon for details on our next sewing class – Mother’s Day aprons!  And also Teacher gifts in May…hope you’ll join us!}

12 Responses

  1. I love the fabrics. I soooo need one of these! Very cute.

  2. I LOVE this! Why haven’t I thought of this?!?! I too make totes, and I could easily do this. Thank you so much for sharing. My sewing room needs some serious organizing!

  3. Zakka Sewing has a similar fabric basket, my husband enlarged the pattern for me…it is cute full of yarn.

  4. Very cute and these look pretty simple! One of the many things on my to do list!

  5. I love it!

    Did I tell you, I might be getting a sewing machine soon?!?! I’ll let you know if it comes through! If not this one, I’m going to ask for one for my birthday and learn from there… 🙂

  6. Hey Trish! Great tutorial (as usual). Pink Penguin (http://ayumills.blogspot.com/) has a lovely patchwork box (with handles) tutorial on her blog – you can see it in the sidebar. I haven’t tried it out, but her tutorials are always awesome.

  7. Oh thank you for this! I love fabric covered boxes but between small children, living on a farm, and a husband who spends his day repairing helicopters, I do not like the fact that I can’t wash any of my boxes!
    This will be a great fabric destasher project!
    Lisa

  8. Hey Trish – I so like this idea for all of my girls “stuff”. Have you ever put something like cardboard inside? I saw a much more complicated box on someones blog, but she put cardboard inside to make it a little more sturdy. I have not tried it, but wondered if you had.

    • I have not tried it. See my comment above – LOL! It’s the kid factor…ya never know and so I like to be able to wash everything. BUT I wonder if you could use that plastic grid stuff…like the needlepoint grid stuff they put in kids sewing kits? You know what I’m talking about? Maybe that would work and still be washable and line dry? Not sure….

Leave a Reply

