Sew Mama Sew May Giveaway Day

Same design but the farmers market totes have less structure to them.  Love this print!

Same design but the farmers market totes have less structure to them. Love this print!

Love those giveaways…and right now there is a HUGE, JuMbO, BIGGGGG giveaway going on over at Sew, Mama, Sew (an awesome little store on line!)

There are a bazillion, cuz that’s a real number don’t ya know, a kazillion other awesome folks doing giveaways RIGHT NOW! From May 27th through May 31st you can visit the big ‘o’ list of giveaway hosts and enter to win. How fun is that? Super fun!

Two Peas in a Pod Homegrown Designs is participating and to go along with our garden theme and being kind to the environment, we are going to giveaway an appliqued t-shirt and a farmers market tote.

To win is easy! We want to know what your favorite fresh wholesome after school snack is. It should use fruits or veggies and not a lot of ingredients – something tasty and good for you and something that celebrates natures harvest. Leave your best snack idea in our comment section and the “two peas” will pick their favorite. (heh! heh! heh! This is my sneaky way of getting some new ideas on what to make them!)

We will ship internationally so all you Aussies out there and beyond, jump in the fun here! Your new tee and market tote will ship to you no later than June 3rd.

Click here to find the Sew, Mama, Sew for the full big daddy list of giveaway hosts.

Have fun! And don’t forget – EVERY MONTH – I do giveaways here and all you have to do is a leave a comment. Joy!!

xoxo, Trish

151 Responses

  1. Hope I’m not too late…LOVE that bag! Our favorite after school snack around here is whatever I’ve baked while the kids were in school…cookies, applesauce cake, banana bread, blueberry muffins, lemon blueberry bread. Or fruit shakes, banana and peanut butter…you know, all the fun stuff that fills hungry tummies until dinner time!

    MGM

  2. my kids were SOOO skinny i had to sneak good things in for them into everything.
    i made fruit smoothies, with full fat yogurt in it and snuck vegetables into it. red cabbage, beets, you name it!!!
    their favorite was ice, yogurt, apples, red cabbage fresh pressed juice, and strawberries!

    i also used to make all of their food “cute”. fruit plates that were smiley faces, pancakes with faces on them, things stacked neatly in little stacks, lots of colors.

  3. My favorite after school snack is apple slices and dipped in vanilla yougurt.
    very cute tote bag!

  4. My fav snack, probably hummus, I get a really good lemon dill at the grocer store, along with peppers or pita! So good!

  5. Apples cut like fries and organic strawberry preserves for the “ketchup”. Yum! Thanks for a chance at this great bag!

  6. My favorite snack is frozen blueberries covered in half and half sprinkled with splenda ( diabetic). Thank you for chance to win your giveaway.

  7. My kids LOVE fruit salad so we’ve usually got a huge bowl of it in the fridge. Our favorite snack (or dessert) is homemade shortbread spread with a little cream cheese frosting (softened cream cheese mixed with powdered sugar, to taste) and topped with as much fruit as you can cram on. My kids usually eat a bowl of fruit with it. Come to think of it, that’s one of my favorite treats too. πŸ˜€

  8. Ok, here’s a weird-sounding but loved-by-all-the-kids-in-my-early-childhood-program snack: cabbage with ketchup. Yup, really. Raw sliced cabbage, which they dip into tiny bowls of homemade ketchup. They love it, and they eat tons of cabbage this way! (And because I made the ketchup, I know it’s not too junky.) Thanks for the giveaway.

  9. We love hummus around here. We dip carrots, snap peas, whole wheat pitas (baked into chips) and more in it. It’s a major snack staple. Heck, I call it a life staple!

  10. Peanut butter and Jelly (with or without added strawberry) tortilla wraps! Fun, yummy, and quick!

  11. This one is simple but really refreshing after school so here it is:

    clean celery stalks and cut into approximately 3″ sections.
    Fill each section with peanut butter and enjoy!

  12. Great give-away!
    I like to cut up some fruits for my boys to make a fruit-cocktail. Usually it’s banana, apple and grapes, and in summer I’d like to add some ice-cream for them (and for myself too, as a matter of fact LOL)

  13. I let my daugthers’ pick out a new fruit or veggie out at the supermarket each week, we read about it on the web, check out uses & find simple recipies for it. The girls enjoy the whole thing, getting the fruit, browsing the web & making something themselves.

  14. Smoothies! Just blend together yogurt and ice with bananas and whatever fruit is in season – berries, kiwi, mango – YUM! You can even freeze these & make popscicles – perfect for a hot day!

    Awesome giveaway, I love your work!

    ugli.tangelo.fruit at gmail dot com

  15. Ok, so you might call me strange, but this is my all-time favorite snack at any time of the day or night. Mostly I only eat this in summer though. Tomatoes with Italian dressing. That’s it. I LOVE fresh home grown tomatoes!!

  16. I like a savory trail mix with dried fruits and nuts. Your market tote will be great for my trips to my local farmer’s market.

  17. Most recently, I made homemade energy bars with oats, flaxseed, blueberries, almonds, soy flour, wheat germ, cinnamon, honey, a little soy milk and peanut butter. Just soften the pb in your microwave, mix, and press into a pan. You can freeze them or just keep them in the refrigerator.

  18. Our favorite after school snack is quick, easy, and nutritious. Goes back to what my mom made for me and my siblings – ants on a log. Celery sticks with peanut butter smeared on top and raisins stuck in the peanut butter. Not sure why kids are so intrigued by the possibility of eating “bugs,” but this is always a favorite in my house.

  19. the best afterschool treat is Watermelon agua fresca! Pure watermelon, blended up a bit! MMMMM! And my town’s a sort of watermelon central, so it’s local and tasty and full of lycopene!;)

  20. My favorite after school snack (then and now) is “ants on a log” – celery sticks spread with peanut butter, dotted with raisins.

    Thanks for the opportunity — Megan

    http://www.apiarydesigns.etsy.com

  21. Eezy Peezy – Milk, Banana and sometime icecream or yoghurt and you have a banana milkshake/smoothie!

  22. My son’s favourite after school snack are small sized muffins. The flavour will depend on what fruit I had lying around when I make them. I’ve made banana, raspberry, strawberries, apple, peach (this is my favourite) and plum muffins. I make them in cupcake tins so that they are toddler sized. The best thing is that you can make a batch and then use them up over a couple of days. Team them up with some milk and they are a hit any toddler will wolf down.

    I love the bag, it’s great to have beautiful things that have a practical purpose.

  23. we have dried fruits and yoghurt yummo!! easy to prepare and they can eat the`flavours they like πŸ˜‰

  24. Hmmm… edamame. They’re these Japanese beans that you can get frozen or fresh in any Asian supermarket. You just steam them for a moment (either on the stove or in the microwave), add a touch of salt and then spend ten minutes having a blast as you squeeze the little beans out of the pods and into your mouth. It’s perfect for kids, because it’s tactile and fun whilst also being green and very healthy πŸ™‚

  25. I love roasted veges for after school snacking. Do things like beetroot. beans unpeeled sweet potato. carrots. etc

  26. Very unoriginal around here w/ a preschooler & toddler — fruit & cheese or crackers & cheese! Sometimes homemade yogurt & homemade fruit preserves.

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!!

  27. My daughter loves apple and peanut butter sandwiches. Core the apple, and slice crossways. Spread pb between 2 slices, and you have an Apple/PB Sandwich. Don’t forget to pack a napkin – a bit messy! Great bag!

  28. I’ve always loved “ants on a log” – celery sticks with peanut butter in the “ditch” and then raisins stuck on top of that. Yum!

  29. Hmmm…. favorite snack? I have so many! I think cracker-faces are fun. You take a cracker (big is better) and add shredded carrots, diced veggies, cheese, or whatever to make a face. The “glue” is either a bit of cream cheese or peanut butter. My daughter’s favorite snack is scraped apple. Her grandmother will slice an apple in half and scrape it with a spoon. They’ll eat it and leave only the peel behind — like a little bowl.

    Thanks for the chance to enter!

  30. I LOVE that bag it is just so cute! My favorite snack is usually brick cheese and whole grain club crackers πŸ™‚ that or honey roasted cashews- yum!

  31. I love the purse super cute!! What about fruit kabobs! Anything that you can eat off of a stick is FUN!!!

  32. Wow – gorgeous bag!! i make sweetcorn fritters for my little fella. they are like corn pikelets – i must confess, that he doesn’t get them all – yum!

  33. We love veggies and hummus. Yum! Thanks for the chance to win!

  34. I LOVE frozen blueberries! If you pour milk over them they get an icy milky coating that is so yummy!

  35. Wow! Great tote! My favorite snack is very simple– toasted whole weat or grain bread-with peanut butter and a little bit of fresh fruit—like some strawberries or sliced peaches….and a cup of tea…makes all things right with the world

  36. Thank you for the chance to win the beautiful tote!! I just love totes for my trips to the store. My kids favorite snack is fresh raspberries and cherry tomatoes right off the vine. My daughter’s shirts are stained with tomatoes and raspberries all summer long!! Thankfully it usually comes out in the wash!!

  37. Great tote – love the tones! Best after school snack or even after work snack are celery sticks in hommus (chickpea dip). But not ordinary celery sticks – celery sticks that have been sliced on the ends and then plunged into icecold water and left there for a couple of hours – the ends curl up and they are fun to eat!

  38. We love fresh fruit around here! We are constantly eating it…it’s so yummy and so good for you. Sometimes we will dip in yogurt, but for the most part we just love it plain. Our favorite? Strawberries–we can’t get enough!

    Thank you for your giveaway!

  39. apples with peanut butter! yum!

    farmers market tote is adorable AND useful πŸ™‚

  40. Well, it’s not totally healthy but…my kids like a homemade trail mix – pretzels, corn chex, chocolate chips, cheezits – really, anything that they like will work!
    The bag is great – I’d love to be the winner!
    Thanks.

  41. My favorite snack is fruit of all kinds – watermelon, pineapple, strawberries, blueberries, dried cranberries, grapes, etc – all cut up and mixed up – with just a touch of ice cream and maybe some chocolate. Not sure if that counts as wholesome since there is ice cream and chocolate involved, but I think the massive amount of fruit makes up for it. πŸ™‚

  42. One snack that I have found really fun, and have shared with my students lately is so simple – did you know that the skin of kiwis is edible and tasteless! It is always shocking to some when you bite into a whole kiwi like an apple!

  43. Favorite snack black seedless grapes smothered in vanilla yogurt.

  44. Many times during the summer, my ‘easy’ lunches for the 6 kids would be all cold stuff in a serving tray….carrots, celery, broccoli flowerette, olives, cheese cubes, pineapple bits, melon balls and the like. THe kids loved these lunches. As they got older they ventured into ranch dressing as a dip. Easy and cool for those too hot to cook/eat days.
    Love the bag!

  45. It has always been “ants on a log” for me – celery sticks, the hollow spread with peanut butter, topped with raising “ants”. Crunchy and chewy, and SO GOOD!

  46. We’re not very creative. It’s usually some cut up fruit, in the winter we have hot chocolate.

  47. I love your prize!! Thanks for the chance to win!! I just this week dehydrated watermelon for the first time! The kiddos love it – it’s super sweet, like candy!

  48. Maybe I’m boring, but I love plain ol’ carrot sticks and raisins. (Now, for an after dinner snack, we do often have smoothies – frozen fruit, milk, sometimes yogurt, and a dash of vanilla extract).

  49. We like to pick a fruit, stir it through some yoghurt and freeze it in ice cube trays. Crunchy yoghurt is a big hit. Favourite fruit….MANGO, MANGO, MANGO!

  50. Such a lovely print and a useful tote. Please count me in!

  51. We are fruit maniacs in our house – whatever is in season is our afternoon snack!

  52. You gotta love vegemite on toast! Yes, I’m Aussie! lol
    I also love Tiger Toast! Tiger toast is vegemite on bread, and then slices of cheese put across it in “stripes” and then put under the grill until the cheese is melted! If your boys wouldn’t be able to stand the taste of vegemite, I’d suggest some jewelry! Grag some grapes, and “thread” them onto string to make edible necklaces!

  53. Growing up my mother would always have sliced carrot and celery sticks in this beautiful glass container in the fridge. My mother is in Heaven now, but the glass container is in my fridge filled with sliced carrots and celery. Some snacks never go out of style.

  54. our favourite afternoon snack is simply blueberries, strawberries and cheddar cheese all cut up. Thanks.

  55. I walk home with my daughter from preschool every day, and we have been eating super ripe pears along the way: no containers needed and we toss the seeds and stem under a tree. I’d be happy to tote them along in that cute bag.

  56. yogurt with fruit preserves:) yummmmm

    lovely market tote!

  57. Our favourite thing after preschool is to take a walk in the garden. there my little one will snack on peas, broccoli, asparagus, and dill (all in their respective seasons). I can also get some weeding done at the same time so it’s win/win!
    thanks for the opportunity!

  58. I love making & eating fruit/oat bars! You can use oats, apples, milk/yogurt/fruit juice/water, raisins, nuts, seeds, flax oil… on & on. put nuts, fruit, 1/2 the oats in the blender. Add enough liquid to get it moving and blend until smooth. Add the rest of the oats and raisins, mix together quickly w/out pureeing. Spread on a cookie sheet & bake for 350 for about 30-45 minutes [depending on how thick it is, how chewy you want it, and how much liquid you added].
    I never measure, and it still works out in the end. The sky is the limit! I want to try one with carrots & raisins & apple sauce next.
    Holler if you want a real recipe.

  59. We don’t get very creative around here. We just stick with plain ol’ fruit. But honestly, the favorite just might be raisins. Just plain ol’ raisins.

  60. our favorite is steamed edemame…. the kids can’t get enough of them!

  61. Did my comment show up? If not I said fruit smoothies.

  62. hummus and carrot sticks…nice fresh ingredients! I love your tote…thanks for the chance to enter!

  63. Oh it has got to be homemade fruit smoothies!

  64. I have 3 hungry kids to feed after school each day-here is a fav of all….dried cherries and whatever nuts I have in the house and a couple of white chocolate chips just to keep them happy!
    Another fun thing now that it is warmer is smoothies with frozen fruits….
    Cool bag..
    Thanks for sharing!
    Carin

  65. at our house, it’s microwave popcorn – the low-fat kind.
    thanks for this giveaway!

    • My girls just discovered kettle corn recently. They love it! I keep popcorn around all the time! It’s one of my favorite late night snacks with a cup of hot cocoa after everybody is in bed.

  66. It’s been awhile since I did afternoon snacks, but a favorite was always sliced apples with a bit of peanut butter for dipping.

  67. My kids love guacamole and I can sneak all kinds of shredded veggies in there. Avocados are such a super food anyway, add that to the tomatoes and then say some shredded zucchini and carrots served on some pita or flat bread and it’s a super duper tasty snack.

  68. I like giving the kids chopped fresh carrot, celery and anything else I can find to dip into freshly made hummus with extra garlic – YUMMO!

    Please enter me in the draw, and don’t forget to enter mine. πŸ™‚

  69. What a great bag! We are big “ants on a log” family. Why mess with tradition.

  70. I guess we’re sorta traditonal with some ants on a log. Organic celery, organic peanut butter and organic raisins. Kids have so much fun making them on their own and they taste great, are filling and a great source of protein! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the chance!

  71. We frequent our local farmers marker! Our favorite afternoon snack, is what has come to be known by my son’s friends as “dirty apples”. I core apples and cut them into 1/8ths. Sprinkle a little lemon juice on them, a bit of cinnamon and Stevia, toss and serve. The kids will eat what is equivalent to 8-10 whole apples when served this way.

  72. I love simple cheese & crackers or these PB& Honey granola bars
    http://www.activelifecooking.com/2009/05/peanut-butter-and-honey-granola-bars.html

  73. love the farmers market bag – and the fabric you used – hope i win – thx for the opp!

    fav snack – apple wedges with a little organic peanut butter ‘dip’ – my 2 year old is into dipping everything!

    crunchy and smooth AND satisfying πŸ™‚ yum

    catherine s.
    imaginethatdesignstudio@gmail.com

  74. Hi thanks for the chance to win that great bag:) My kids fave snack is a plate of sliced apples, pears and carrots with peanut butter to dip, also my Betsy loves toasted cucumber sandwiches mmmm that’s my girl :p
    Sophie

  75. Hello thanks for the chance to win that great bag!! My kids fave snack is a plate of sliced apples, pears and carrots with peanut butter to dip in also another fave is a taosted cucumber sandwich, my Betsy really loves those.
    Sophie:)

  76. My kids love all kinds of fresh fruit cut up and then mixed with yogurt. We usually go with strawberry yogurt, but pretty much any flavor works. Adorable bag. I’m crossing my fingers!!!

    maxandellie at gmail dot com

  77. Our best snack is fruit smoothies. Fruit, yogurt, milk, ice in the blender. YUM!

  78. my favorite after school snack is to take my boys out (all three) and search for berries . . . raspberries, blue berries, blackberries . . . you name it.

  79. This might be a little more than a snack idea, but my daughter LOVES it.

    http://readingwithhannah.blogspot.com/2008/08/cute-lunch-idea.html

    I just bought a cheap muffin tin or you could use a small paint tray to make it a “real” snack size. Fill it up with fruit and some yogurt for dipping and it’s perfect. I think a great presentation makes anything taste better πŸ™‚

    P.S. You could also sprinkle some ground flax seed onto the yogurt. The kids can pretend it’s sand. LOL

  80. Hi Trish!

    There’s a couple of things that I like for healthy snacks. One is organic strawberries (which I saw from your last post that you do too). Alex and I got a good deal on a couple of pints this past weekend and they are already all gone; they were some of the best I’ve ever had!

    I also like toasting an English muffin and then spreading some peanut butter on top, or Ritz crackers with a little peanut butter and slice of apple on top. I also try to keep a mix of dried fruits (cranberries, apricots, etc) and nuts around to grab on the go; plain (or vanilla) yogurt works well with this too because it allows everyone to add whatever kind of dried fruit or nut they’d like to it (like an ice cream sundae bar, but far healthier)!

    I love the tote Trish, thanks for always having such great giveaways!

  81. best afternoon snack..celery sticks with peanut butter or apples with peanut butter. Love the bag! Hope I win!

  82. Yogurt with berries and granola! Yum Yum! I have two litttle peas myself, 8 weeks old! Thanks for sharing your blog!

    • YOU need some serious snacks to get through the newborn stage with twins. My girls were probably 3 months old before I was eating anything but cereal – I didn’t have the energy to make a single thing!

  83. Best afternoon snack — walk to the garden and see what’s ripe! My kids are currently enjoying the raspberries and a few strawberries.

    Otherwise, we always love a bowl of cereal. With or without the milk.

  84. Best afternoon snack. Cut Cucumber. Or fresh sugar snap peas straight out of the garden. My kids love to pick them and eat them. I had to plant more the past few years because they fight over them. In the winter they love frozen peas (yep served frozen).

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  85. Well, Anything fruit is a hit-, smmothies, yogurt—Growing up, we ate a lot of peanutbutter and celery–I love that–and peanutbutter on a banana–slice the banana lengthwise, and stick peanut butter between–
    Wintertime–baked apples–a bit of butter and brownsugar with cinnamon–

  86. Wow! What a great giveaway! Thanks! We love to eat apples and walnuts together – YUM!

  87. My favorite healthy snack is a sliced apple. If it’s summer cantaloup and watermelon are the best though!

    Homemade applesauce is wonderful too!

  88. Apples and cheese, that is all these little stinkers really like.

    I am more of a if it is food and fits in my mouth it is good.
    Your bag would be lovely to take to the farmers market!!

  89. I love tzatziki. Fresh cucumbers, dill, and yogurt. Yum!

  90. That’s super cute! I make coconut milk smoothies with lots of fresh fruit.

  91. We do a lot of cut up raw veggies with a dip sauce – my 2-year old loves to pick the pieces with his hands.
    Beautiful tote!

  92. My kids both love cucumbers, so anything I give them to dip into with cucumbers works well. Hummus is a healthy, easy choice!

  93. Chopped up banana with peanut butter. Even better as a smoothie! Beautiful Tote!

  94. Yogurt with the fruit of the season. Easy peasy!

  95. lemonade! ice cold lemonade is a must after a long hot day!

    abby

  96. My kids favorite after school snack is a fruit shake. Yogurt, juice and what ever fruit I have frozen plus a bananna (I also add wheat germ). They love these because it’s a snack they can take out to play instead of having to sit and eat it. I love it becasue it uses up any fruit or banannas that are not going to make it another day. My Sons favorite snack is a yogurt parfait. I put yogurt in a fancy little fruit cup fresh rasberries and a sprinkle of granola. He thinks it’s so special. Even tells strangers about them πŸ™‚

  97. Bananas, cut into pieces and dipped in coconut. Yum.

  98. strawberry with cream. A lot of cream on the strawberries, then I try to catch the strawberries with the less cream possible, and them I mix cream with the juice…
    Thnaks for your giveaway !

  99. I love to chop bananas and spread a little bit of cinnamon. It is delicious.
    The tote is beautiful! Thanks a lot and please count me in.

  100. Love the bag ! at the moment you can’t beat a big bowl of fresh grapes and strawberries ! our local farmshop sells locally grown and they are the sweetest strawberries you ever tasted ! Thanks for taking part in the giveaway.

  101. I love chopping variety of fruits into tiny bits, not so tiny, just a wee smaller than ice cubes, melons, watermelons, oranges, apples, pineapples, and strawberries (this one no chopping needed). Just add plain yogurt, raisin, and a little rice cereal, I’m in snack heaven.

  102. My daughter’s a bit fussy about fruit but she adores plums and cherries so we make the most of those when in season, although she doesn’t quite ‘get’ seasonal produce yet so we have to explain why cherries aren’t around in winter! Such a hard life she leads… Love the bag!

  103. Fruit leather or yogurt are the favorites around here. Thanks for the chance to win!

  104. My favorite for my fussy eater is fruit kebabs, lots of seasonal fruit cut into chunks for them to make their own kebabs out of. Yellow kiwifruit, fejoia, apple and mandarin are seasonal here at the moment. For a birthday treat we add marshmellows to the mix.

  105. One of my favorite snacks is having those small containers of yougert and pop it in the freezer and then it is like having ice cream, yummy on a hot summer day. I also like slicing up what ever fruit is in season into some vanillia yougert.

    The bag is just lovely, thanks for your giveaway.

    Terri

  106. I always fall back on the classic crisp apple and sharp cheddar cheese. You know … “apple pie without cheese is like a kiss without a squeeze”.
    Your tote bag looks terrific – please count me in for the giveaway.
    kareno369(@)hotmail(dot)com

  107. We make a fruit chippies – just fresh fruit apples, pears, pinapple and melon cut into the shape of a fat fry, which we kiwis call chips. Or truckie scones a weeta bix with honey spread on top. Thanks for the giveaway I have serious bag love!
    lyndy(at)pulsehr(dot)co(dot)nz

  108. Favorite snacks, hmmm. Well, if it’s summer (we eat seasonally) we go with berries in organic yogurt, and in the fall we eat homemade applesauce with whipped cream (no sugar added).

  109. I love the bag that fabric is super cute. We like to make “mixes” dried fruit, nuts for those that can have them, seeds (and maybe one or two organic chocolate chips to search for:)

  110. Any food that is healthy (or mostly so), not messy and portable. Trader Joes little wheat pitas are great with a little pb or cream cheese in them and mango is a new hit around here, with the boys fighting over who gets to suck on the pit.

  111. no kids here – but, I love to make roasted red pepper hummus which I eat with flat bread…

    love the bag…

    nhsarab at yahoo dot com

  112. I don’t have any kids (yet)…but my favorite after work snack is a smoothie. Just some fruit, yogurt, milk or juice, spin and drink (if you use frozen fruits, it turns more into a frozen yogurt) great for a sweet fix and very wholesome. (P.s. I have one of those single shot blenders so you drink right from the cup you blend in…makes less mess and less fuss).

  113. baked sweet potato chips YUM!

    β™₯ hey, try your luck at my giveaway too!
    http://marelleshop.blogspot.com/

  114. our son is not in school but he is still an afternoon snack fan of cheese and apple stacks – a good robust, crunchy apple slice with a slice of marble or medium cheddar on top. the bag is cool! hope my snack is not too mundane!

  115. Our favorite snack is hummous with cucumber. Yum.

  116. My girls love fresh fruit (strawberries, grapes, bananas) with vanilla yogurt to dip it in! Delicious and cool on a warm afternoon!

  117. We love to have this fish shaped cookie cutter and make a tunafish sandwich. The boys help me use the cutter to make the fish shape and we add a few grapes on the side. YUMMY and smaller, so perfect snack size!

  118. ARCTIC ORANGES

    4 oranges
    4 cups orange juice
    4 cherries

    Cut the tops off the oranges in a zigzag pattern. Hollow out the insides, remove the seeds and combine in a blender with the juice. Set the rinds in a muffin tin and fill with the mixture. Drop a cherry inside each orange. Freeze for 2 to 3 hours. Soften the treats for 5 minutes, then serve. Makes 4.

    I found this on Family Fun to give credit , my 4 year old niece loves these!

  119. The bag is great!
    What a great way to get new snack ideas!
    We like to snack on baked sweet potato fries! Super yummy, peel cut into strips, toss in a small amount of extra virgin olive oil, or spray lightly with cooking spray and bake in oven. Great as is, dip in honey, or sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar!

  120. Always a favorite with my children, now with my grandbabies… Core an apple. (They love looking through the holes in the apples!) They help me mix equal parts of cream cheese and peanut butter. Nice and gooey! Then add a little honey or maple syrup and mush it all together. (They’ve been known to use their hands for this part.) Stuff the cored apple with this mixture. Now the truly fun part… cut the apple into about 6 rings… holding the apple together. If you are packing the apple, it stays together quite nicely, just wrap it tightly. Or, eat it now! The rings come apart… each having the yummy mush in the middle. We usually make a bit more mush than we need… totally yummy on toast in the morning! Hope you enjoy. BTW… LOVE the bag. It would hit the Farmer’s Market with me Saturday mornings. Thanks for the chance to win!

  121. My little one isn’t old enough for after school snacks. But I used to love a frozen banana. Sounds a little weird, but peel a banana and put it in a ziploc then freeze. Fantastic treat on a hot day. Blueberries and grapes are also great frozen!!

  122. I love your bag. Our favorite snack is really simple–sliced strawberries drizzled with balsamic syrup. If I have a chance I whip up some whipped cream biscuits to go with it, and some whipped cream too.

  123. A favorite in my house: healthy whole wheat crackers, thin slices of apple, slices of cheddar cheese and peanut butter. Not all together at the same time! Make a “sandwish”: 2 or 3 of the items make a great munchy.

    Your tote is so very cheerful. I can’t imagine how I would manage life without bags and totes, all fabric–for books, sewing projects, quilts, shoes, groceries, snacks. My mother made bags from scraps and from old clothes–back in the 1950s before all this was so popular. I’d love t win your tote! Thank you,
    Kathleen
    villagequilteratgmaildotcom

  124. I LOVE that bag and I really want to take it with me on my weekly outing to the Farmer’s Market. My all-time, never get tired of it, favorite snack is the NAKED dried mangos from Trader Joe’s! izazbz@yahoo.com

  125. This is a beautiful tote…

    The hands down favorite snack in this house is whole grain crackers with either cream cheese and a small slice of “whatever fruit is handy”, a slice of cheese or CRUNCHY peanut butter and dried cranberries or blueberries.

  126. I love the bag!

    My favourite snack is simple but v. yummy! Natural yoghurt, blueberries & honey. Just enough sugar to give me a post-work high plus some handy vitamins & superfood!

    x

  127. We often make fruit smoothies. That is my boys’ all time favorite snack after school. When my bananas get a little too ripe, I peel them and freeze them so I always have frozen bananas on hand. I put 1 banana, 6 ice cubes, 2 tbsp sugar, 2 tbsp of peanut butter and 1 cup of skim milk. I then blend it and add some spray whipped cream and a few tiny chocolate chips to the top. They think it is the most exciting thing ever!

    :Love the tote and I love the farmer’s market too!

  128. Homemade bread in 5 minutes!! I use this recipe: http://www.globalgourmet.com/food/cookbook/2009/artisan-bread/boule.html and then saute some onions and garlic with a bit of butter and you have a delicious spread for your homemade bread! Seriously, this bread will change your life…I’m never buying store bought again! Hope you try it!

  129. I love the tote! My favorite healthy snack is to do a trail mix ‘buffet.” I put various trail mix items like nuts, dried fruit, cheerios, kix, yogurt bites, etc. in little cups or bowls and give everyone their own little bag to fill with their own personal mix. Lots of fun – even for grownups πŸ™‚

  130. My kids love fruit smoothies after school. We use a variety of fruits (strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and of course bananas). They also like to eat peanut butter on an english muffin.

  131. Right now Da’Gorgeouses are into blueberries, strawberries and organic (pick your flavor–they like strawberry) yogurt! They really get a kick out of it if I layer them in a parfait cup!

    Hugs & Blessings!

  132. My favorite afterschool snack is just a simple apple with peanut butter! Nothin’ fancy, but I would LOVE to win your giveaway! Thanks for the chance!

  133. My girls had celery and ranch dip for an after school snack today. Thanks for the chance to win!

  134. My little ones (4 and 2.5) love to eat raw carrots! I find it funny to see such little kids eating big carrots and enjoying every bite! Thanks for the great giveaway.

  135. My favorite was always banana smoothie — banana (preferably overripe), milk, vanilla, and used to put in a raw egg, but you’re not supposed to anymore. Made it nice and fluffy and added lots of protein!

    My sister’s takes the cake: put a BIG slice of cheese in a bowl, microwave it until melted, pour off the grease, and enjoy. She’s always been stick-thin, by the way.

  136. Getting my kids to eat healthy is sometimes a chore because they’re so picky. They do however lover strawberries and blueberries, so I buy that for them. They also love chips so I sneak in the whole grain kind with some cheese and they gobble that up, too. Love the tote…it’s so pretty. Thanks for hosting.

  137. Cute bag! My favorite snack (one of them) Is celery and pb with raisins on top. Another is watermelon, plain and simple πŸ™‚

  138. sorry,
    another idea we love is a celery stick filled in with cheese whiz or peanut butter with raisins or dried cranberries on top

    like frogs on a log!

  139. I like to make fruit kebobs….
    cut up 2 or 3 different types of fruit into cubes
    (we like grapes and apple)
    and also some cubes of cheese
    poke them onto a toothpick in random order and the kids just love them!
    we also like to dip them in vanilla yogurt

    p.s. your bag is awesome!

  140. That tote is adorable, I need some of that fabric πŸ˜€

    Favorite snacks around here 5 y/o loves Apple dippers and yogurt or a fruit salad.. that has to be her ultimate favorite and she probably has that for lunch 3 out of 5 days.
    11 y/o is an apple freak
    17 y/o loves to pick the cherry tomatoes and Basil that I grow and make Bruschetta, her other favorites are celery and blue cheese, strawberries and yogurt and any other fresh fruits.

    Do you notice how there’s not a lot of vege snacking going on around here ? LOL

  141. We love fruit smoothies. I buy organic yogurt (Brown Cow, cream on top!), and we put in fresh and/or frozen fruit….strawberries, bananas, melons, whatever strikes our fancy. I also throw in a little ground flax. I make them really thick, more fruit than yogurt. My son loves it and it beats ice cream!

  142. How about an English muffin fruit pizza? Just spread a whole wheat muffin half with low fat cream cheese and add sliced fruit (strawberries, blueberries, banana, or whatever).

    I love your farmers market tote – great fabric. Thanks for your giveaway.

Leave a Reply

